A map

I’ve been trying to find a decent map to put up here to remind me where I am.

 afghanistan_map.gif

I do like a good map I do. And cartography is such a nice word. Unfortunately, they’re hard to come by for Afghanistan. The provincial divisions on this one are out of date, though it’s probably too small to see anyway. That’s Ghor, or Ghowr, just left of centre.

AIMSis your one-stop shop for Afghan mapping needs. And I have a bone to pick with them. The one distinguishing feature of the provincial capital Chagcharan is the Hari Rud running through it East to West. Yet unless my eyes deceive, on their otherwise very detailed map this river does not exist. Doesn’t bode well for those of us trying to find our way.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

