An Afghan love poem

Writing yesterday reminded me of these opening lines of an old Afghan love poem (though I don’t mean to imply anything by the connection):

There’s a boy across the river with a rectum like a peach, but alas, I cannot swim

I nearly chocked on my shisha laughing when a friend recited that.

dsc00841.jpg

Tags: , , ,

16 Responses to “An Afghan love poem”

  1. afghanistanica Says:

    Dear God! That is quite a salacious translation. The translation I saw uses “bum,” not “rectum.” I wonder which one is correct (but they are both still quite wrong).

  2. harryrud Says:

    I did wonder about the translation, but prefer my version. But why wrong? In what way?

  3. afghanistanica Says:

    Wrong as in the boy probably doesn’t want anything to do with either version.

  4. Yadgar Says:

    Hi Harry!

    As I dream of “rebuilding” (pre-war, but not exclusively) Afghanistan as a virtual world using 3D software, topographic maps and SRTM altitude data (see also the “raytracing” subsection of my homepage), I’m always looking for qualified landscape photos for comparison when modeling the terrain. Does your picture on this page in fact show the Kokcha valley near Faizabad?

    As to the “boy across the river” song: it is also mentioned and quoted in M. M. Kaye’s “The Far Pavillons”; the German translation in my copy reads as “einen Hintern wie ein Pfirsich”, which re-translates as “bottom” rather than “rectum”!

    See you one day in my Kabul Module!

    Yadgar

  5. omid Says:

    this is omid Nazary, i am from Afghanistan and i living in Belgium,

    i have write this poem according my sitution,i hope you poeple like my

    own poem,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, i am living lonely that my life candle is burning our,, This mortal world and bank to know that my plumage is burning out,

    thanks best regards

  6. DREAMY GIRL SAHAR Says:

    i LOVE TO SHARE MY POEM CALLED *HIGHSCHOOL*
    ~I CAN’T WAIT FOR HIGHSCHOOL IT MIGHT BE REALY COOL~
    ~ HIGHSCHOOL IS WHEN YOU THINK IT IS GREAT BUT IT IS NOT ~
    ~ …………………………………………………..~
    ~ wE ARE GOING TO STAY AWAY FROM THEY BOYE IF THE MESS WITH US WE WILL IGNOR THEM LIKE TOYES ~
    ~IT WILL BE REALLY FUN WE MIGHT GO FOR RUN ~
    ~* HIGHSCHOOL*~

  7. rohullah safdari Says:

    it was nice i am so thank full from u all thanks alot

  8. understand spanish Says:

    understand spanish…

    […]An Afghan love poem « harry rud[…]…

  9. coupons Says:

    Link exchange is nothing else however it is just placing
    the other person’s website link on your page at appropriate place and other person will also do similar in favor of you.

  10. kamdengage.yolasite.com Says:

    It’s in point of fact a great and helpful piece of information. I am happy that you simply shared this helpful information with us. Please stay us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  11. web page Says:

    Wonderful blog you have here but I was curious about if you knew of any community forums that cover the same topics discussed here?

    I’d really like to be a part of community where I can get advice from other knowledgeable individuals that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Thanks a lot!

  12. mulbery Says:

    Everyone loves what you guys are up too. This kind
    of clever work and exposure! Keep up the awesome works
    guys I’ve added you guys to my personal blogroll.

  13. appliance repair distress Says:

    Hello! I’ve been reading your site for a long time now and finally
    got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Houston Tx!
    Just wanted to mention keep up the great job!

  14. Lucia Says:

    Lost your car keys, or perhaps inadvertently broke in the ignition. Nowadays
    locksmiths are offering services that aare extending beyond doorss and automobiles
    to include window ocks for security measures. residential,
    commercial and automotive locks repair needs is the onee whose service can be
    trusted.

  15. andy perceval Says:

    it’s a popular pastun campaigning song called ”zakmhi dil’ so i’m reliably informed by pashtun soldiers who approve the sentiment and no doubt undulge the practice.

Leave a Reply

