Volleyball lessons

Volleyball game in Ghor, Afghanistan

Many evenings after work there is a game of volleyball in the Chagcharan office compound.

I’m crap at volleyball.

But still, I like to try, and usually manage to get a few laughs if not any points.

Last year I was barely able to hit the bloody ball. I’ve improved a little, and now manage to hit it off at right angles to where I want it to go.

It’s been a good way of learning my numbers as I try and keep up with the point scoring.

I’ve also learnt the word ‘out’ (usually punctuated with an exclamation mark). As far as I can tell, this roughly translates as ‘jolly good show old chap, good effort and better luck next time.’

I try and recover some dignity by saying that if we were playing football, I’d whoop all their arses.

I live in fear of the day they’ll call my bluff.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Volleyball lessons”

  1. Frida Says:

    I can’t believe it took me all this time to find you.

    You write well, my friend, obviously much better than you play volleyball.

  2. deniz Says:

    i am from Afghanistan i like play volleyball now i am in Romania i am going to American school of Bucharest i like sport and i play basketball in the school team. next to time we have volleyball i try to go to volleyball team because it is my favorite game when i was child i all ways played volleyball now i have English homework about volleyball

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

