Ghor again

In between the killing of Gayle Williams and two international DHL employers in Kabul, I’ve been back to Ghor – my former base in Afghanistan and where this blog started. It was a good trip.

A blast through the hills to some far flung districts, familiar routes and new people and places. I used to grumble that the very few people from head office who came out when I was living there stayed for a week and had a great time – fresh air, a change of scene, strangely beautiful landscape – and didn’t understand what I was complaining about when I tried to describe some of the difficulties. This time I was that person from head office, and I can’t say I didn’t enjoy it. I also got to drop in on my former colleagues for a quick cup of tea and a gossip, which was a treat.

But more of all that later. The killing of three internationals in Kabul in such a short time frame has been disheartening to say the least, and I have work to catch up with.

6 Responses to “Ghor again”

  1. Peter Says:

    Go safe, Harry. Go safe!

    Peter

  2. Phil Says:

    Hi Harry. Assuming you didn’t photoshop it, that is an amazingly beautiful photo. Well done. It has been a discouraging few days, hasnt it…
    Phil.

  3. Phil Says:

    (Realised that is wasnt perhaps clear that I am in Afghanistan too – http://www.itinerantindigent.wordpress.com)

  4. Pete McP Says:

    Yes, take care… and that really is a nice photo, looks like 5 landscapes superimposed, each one slightly grander than the last..

  5. harryrud Says:

    Cheers guys. It wasn’t exactly photoshoped, but was touched up a bit: high altitude and bright sunshine tends to whitewash all my photos, but that’s what it really looked like to the eye, promise!

    Phil, yes, I’ve seen your blog and enjoy reading it. Your posts over the last week certainly resonate.

  6. Marianne Says:

    I’m glad you made it back. Even when life was tough there (and my life there was never as tough as yours) the landscape could life my spirit on the worst day. Take care.

Leave a Reply

