Writing (someone else’s) CV

Reading Phil’s blog about the CVs and application letters he received for a national post in Afghanistan had me chuckling then feeling slightly sorry for doing so. His exasperation at the lack of care and attention many candidates give to applying for jobs certainly rang true, and was something I had in mind when I wrote about international experts applying for jobs in Afghanistan

Recently a former Afghan colleague of mine contacted me asking for help applying for a job. I had to apologise for not knowing anyone at the outfit in question and so being unable to put in a good word for him, but offered to have a look at his application. And ended up re-writing much of it.

I did the same for a non-native English speaking expatriate recently and didn’t give it a second thought. This time round though it was trickier, mainly because I knew if I made it too good, it just wouldn’t be believable. So it was an exercise in creative writing, emulating some of the least bad grammatical mistakes idiosyncrasies and that I commonly read. I’m still worried I over did it.

Then of course there is the ethical dilemma. To which I say well he’s a really good candidate and a lovely chap and damn the ethics. No different than a professional CV writing service in the UK. Even if he did spell my name wrong in his last email.

One Response to “Writing (someone else’s) CV”

  1. transitionland Says:

    I’ve done this quite a few times in the past year. My favourite part is adding in all the missing articles.

Leave a Reply

