Snapshot: The benefits of burqas

Walking out the office gate to a car waiting outside one morning, my mind elsewhere, it took me a while to figure out what the blue thing squatting down in the middle of the drive was, or why the guards were trying to shoo it away.

Oh, it’s a woman in a burqa having a pee. Urm, OK, I think I’ll wait here till she’s finished.

One Response to “Snapshot: The benefits of burqas”

  1. Roberta Says:

    It is a common strategy. The inimitable Josie Dew ( can commenters embed links? http://www.josiedew.co.uk/ I guess not) has cycled sola through many countries, and recommends a large rain poncho, to wear while crouching down on the side of the road, pretending to fix something on the bike. And I seem to recall that one of the founders of psychoanalysis, or perhaps one of his first male clients, had been scarred by observing, as a child, his mother pausing (upright) for a moment in her perambulations. This is in the days of voluminous hooped or bustled skirts. The little boy noticed the visible evidence on the path. “I did not mean for you to see that,” she said. Cue years of later analysis. In the interests of accuracy, I tried googling for variants of “founder psychoanalysis mother skirt” but it all got rather too NSFW too quickly, or maybe I am just squeamish. I seem to recall they were walking in the zoo? I’d love the reference, if anyone knows.

Leave a Reply

